Place des Guillemins

Error message

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in i18n_taxonomy_views_pre_render() (line 1317 of /home/www/a746dfee75c21b4c996a3982cce43b96/web/sites/all/modules/i18n/i18n_taxonomy/i18n_taxonomy.module).

Description

Place des Guillemins

Slideshow-Projet

Description

Place des Guillemins

In 1999, three years after Santiago Calatrava had been awarded the contract to design the Liège-Guillemins railway station, Claude Strebelle submitted a master plan for the reorganisation of the district adjoining the station. The plan offered an outline of how the area between Cointe Hill and the banks of the Meuse would be developed, and included an international competition for the design of the square in front of the new railway facilities. Dethier Architecture, working in association with Ney & Partners, 4D and the TER agency, was awarded the contract in 2003.

The Place des Guillemins was completed in 2014, an effort that involved factoring in the wide range of issues that this type of project raises. The finished project testifies to a overall urban vision. Right from the start, the architects designed the space as a starting point for later developments that would breath new life into the entire district. 

The entire undertaking took more than a decade, and involved three separate planning permits and many conciliation phases between the various stakeholders, including Euro Liege TGV, the Walloon public transportation company (TEC), the city of Liège and the Walloon regional transport company (SRWT), among others. The budget to complete the project ballooned, primarily due to the need to decontaminate the soil — a phase made necessary by a change in legislation, which had not been included originally.

The Place des Guillemins

The Place des Guillemins is a triangular-shaped area situated between the Rue des Guillemins, the Rue Bovy and the intersection of the Rue de Serbie and the Rue de Sclessin. It opens onto the Meuse River. Its formal developments, specifically the calculation of the outlines and the placement of the materials gives the site an integrity that underpins its urban presence and the federating role it plays for its surroundings. This concern can be seen in the definition of a framework that runs parallel to that of the station, embodied by the joint layout of the surfacing. Traditional sidewalk cobblestones alternate with concrete slabs, decreasing at the centre of the Place and thereby bringing together the various levels. The cobbled areas facilitate access to the various underground conduits.

The Place was designed to be a flexible, multi-purpose space. In addition to its role as a meeting-point, the site is primarily intended as a multimodal junction complying with modern requirements in terms of efficiency and safety. High-volume means of transport – including trains, cycles, buses and trams – are linked up and integrated into consistent, fluid patterns. The use of broad paving slabs adds a level of comfort and convenience for the many users with luggage. Each aggregate concrete slab measures 4 m x 3 m and weighs 7.5 tons. They were prefabricated off-site to ensure a homogenous surface and a higher level of finishing. Each of the 380 slabs were approved individually; once in place, no anchoring is visible.

The architects made particular efforts to structure pedestrian traffic through the use of plantings and the presence of three wave fountains. Another fountain fitted with jets of water contributes to the liveliness of the setting. The fountains are made of seamless stainless steel set in a concrete base, thus facilitating their upkeep. Beneath, a 66-metre-long machine room houses the electrical controls for the fountains, pumps and a UV-filtering system (which is more environmentally-friendly than the more standard chlorine filters). The water flows in a closed circuit (130 m3 are stored in two buffer tanks beneath the Place) and is changed on a regular basis by means of a 30-metre-deep well, which is also used for manual plant-watering, thus avoiding waste.

Another contributor was landscape architect Gilles Clément, who stepped in during the design phase when Agence Ter withdrew. The project's landscaping elements include green spaces planted with rose bushes, flowering cherry trees, Kobushi magnolias, Japanese sophora trees and various species of bamboo (550 trees divided among 31 separate zones). These may be adversely affected by the city's municipal services' decision to eliminate the automatic watering systems that the designers had originally called for.

Special attention was paid to the lighting, which primarily consists of LEDs. This is the first time that this type of lighting has been employed on such a large scale. The "totems" at either end of the square (the roundabout and the Rue de Serbie/Rue de Sclessin intersection) were designed in collaboration with Brussels artist Jean Glibert. Low lighting masts and light sources set in the ground create a high-quality visual experience at a very human scale. Above all, however, they help to integrate the various architectural elements, particularly the Calatrava station, which they unobtrusively highlight by anchoring the structure in its context.

A holistic urban vision

The Place des Guillemins is far more than a buffer space between the district and the train station. Instead of having the square merely regulate the monumentality of the station and modulate the schism between it and the built environment, the designers conceived it as the starting-point for the redevelopment of an entire district of Liège. Logically, the square is difficult to grasp in the absence of this larger vision. Moreover, there is concern that it will fall short of full intelligibility if the spirit in which it was designed is not respected in future developments.

As an extension to research that was conducted for the square, and without having been awarded the contract, Dethier Architecture carried out a feasibility study of the redevelopment of the Quartier des Guillemins. The study was based around two basic concepts. First, a proposal that the existing built environment be completed rather than razed to make way for new, decontextualized structures. Second, the research defines a site plan built along a longitudinal spine – a 550-metre-long esplanade between the train station and the river, which would be extended by a walkway giving access to the Parc de la Boverie and the Longdoz district, where urban developments could be introduced. Cross-cutting penetrations, linked to this artery, could infiltrate the entire district and bolster its real-estate potential (offices, housing, etc.). Drawn up based on slow modes of transport, including cycling and walking, the esplanade was the subject of a great deal of thought: spatial segmentation based on specific movement speeds, elimination of automobile traffic, the correct proportions between the square and its human users, introduction of local and regional linking elements, moving part of the roadway along the riverbanks underground, etc.

In designing the Place des Guillemins and expanding the study to accommodate a wider vision, the architects sought to combine the site's urban role and the scale of the surrounding neighbourhood so that the resulting ensemble could give fresh impetus to Liège. They also discussed how to integrate the concept of functional heterogeneity – the urban fabric offers the possibility of creating attractive living areas and of building a much-needed business district for Liège, as well as creating a commercial environment that is respectful of local shop owners.

These reflections were realistic with respect to budgets, intrusions into the life of the neighbourhood and implementation timelines. Demolitions and expropriations were limited. By emphasising moveable "public" property and the judicious use of private partnerships, Dethier Architecture factored in the city's financial capacities. With support from the Walloon Region starting in January 2007, the study was approved by the Liège city council (collège communal) on 8 February of the same year. This choice, it should be emphasised, settled the bone of contention created by the proposal presented in 2000 by Santiago Calatrava for the same space. Calatrava's project, which was more monumental and unrealistic in its outsized nature, was more focused on adapting the urban fabric to the train station than on integrating the station into the characteristics of Liège.

The research undertaken is expected to result in a set of urban planning recommendations. To ensure that the project would be consistent with the future identity of the Guillemins district, a number of aspects had to be defined, including the location of functional elements, the perimeter of new structures, how facades and plots would be handled, etc. Unfortunately, the public authorities decided not to pursue this beyond the feasibility study. There is thus a real risk that future developments will lack consistency. There are those who deplore the disproportionate height of the new Tour des Finances designed by the Jaspers-Eyers and Greisch architectural firms. There are reasons to have reservations about the relevance of the mobility plan, which was not authored by Dethier Architecture, or the results of the real estate development competition, which was driven more by financial gain than by the creation of significant architectural contributions.

Technical sheet

Rue Paradis
4000 Liège
2014
Ville de Liège

Planning of the square in front of the TGV station.

Artist : Jean Glibert
Landscape : Atelier TER ; Gilles Clément
temporary partnership Dethier Architecture, Ney & Partners, Atelier 4D
Eloy
JMV-Colas
380 slabs (4x3m ; 7,5t) ; 30m deep well ; LED technology

Localization

Latitude: 50° 37' 33.6" N
Longitude: 5° 34' 11.64" E

Related projects

Lecture halls "Opéra" for the Université de Liège
© Serge Brison / www.sergebrison.com
The riding school of the Caserne Fonck
© Serge Brison / www.sergebrison.com
Restoration of the Curtius and Brahy residences in the Grand Curtius Museum group.
(c) Jean-Paul Legros
Mountain of Bueren
© Jean-Paul Legros
Electricity sub-station
© Daylight
Welkenraedt Funeral Centre
© Serge Brison / www.sergebrison.com

Place des Guillemins

Description

Place des Guillemins

Slideshow-Projet

Description

Place des Guillemins

C’est en 1999 que Claude Strebelle dépose un schéma directeur pour le remodelage du quartier autour de la gare des Guillemins dont le projet avait, trois ans plus tôt, été confié à Santiago Calatrava. Ce document qui trace les grandes lignes de l’évolution du site depuis la colline de Cointe jusqu’aux bords de Meuse s’est notamment concrétisé par un appel d’offres international pour la conception d’une place devant les nouvelles installations ferroviaires, appel que le bureau Dethier Architecture, en association avec Ney & Partners, l’Atelier 4D et l’Agence TER, a remporté en 2003.

La place des Guillemins a été achevée en 2014. Elle témoigne non seulement de la prise en compte des nombreuses et très hétéroclites questions posées par ce type d’aménagement mais également d’une vision urbanistique globale. En effet, les architectes ont d’emblée conçu cet espace comme un point de départ pour des aménagements ultérieurs destinés à revaloriser l’ensemble du quartier.

Il donc fallu plus de dix ans, le dépôt de trois permis d’urbanisme, de nombreuses phases de conciliation entre les différents intervenants (Euro Liège TGV, TEC, Ville de Liège, SRWT …) ainsi que de sévères réajustements budgétaires – principalement en raison de la nécessité de dépolluer les sols, opération non prise en compte à l’origine pour des raisons de changement de législation – pour faire aboutir le projet.

La place des Guillemins

Située entre la rue des Guillemins, la rue Bovy et la jonction des rues de Serbie et de Sclessin, la place définit une forme triangulaire ouverte en direction de la Meuse. Ses développements formels, en particulier le calcul des gabarits et le placement des matériaux, tendent à lui conférer une unité qui renforce sa présence urbanistique et son rôle d’élément de cohésion pour son environnement. Cette préoccupation se traduit notamment par la définition d’une trame parallèle à celle de la gare, visible dans la disposition des joints de calepinage des revêtements de sol. Les traditionnels pavés des trottoirs s'alternent avec les dalles de béton et s'atténuent dans un dégradé jusqu'au centre de la place, reprenant ainsi les différences de niveaux. Les zones pavées permettent un accès plus facile aux divers impétrants situés en dessous.

Sur le plan fonctionnel, elle a été voulue comme un espace polyvalent et flexible. Outre le fait d’assurer un rôle de lieu de rassemblement, le site se présente surtout comme un carrefour de circulations multimodales avec toutes les conditions contemporaines d’efficacité et de sécurité. Les différents moyens de transport (train, vélo, bus, tram) qui connaissent ici des fréquences élevées s’y trouvent connectés et intégrés dans des séquences cohérentes et fluides. C’est physiquement sensible dans le confort octroyé par l’emploi des grandes dalles de sol qui facilitent le passage des nombreux usagers munis de valises. Chacune de ces dalles mesure 4m sur 3 et pèse 7,5 tonnes. Réalisées en béton désactivé, elles ont été préfabriquées en atelier pour assurer une meilleure finition et une homogénéité de surface. Les 280 dalles ont été réceptionnées individuellement et une fois posées, aucun ancrage de manutention n'est visible.

Les architectes ont d’ailleurs traité avec un soin particulier l’ensemble des circulations piétonnes structurées par l’implantation du végétal et la présence de trois bassins, animés de vagues. Une autre zone munie d’un système de jets aléatoires renchérit sur la convivialité du lieu. Les bassins sont des monolithes en acier inox placés dans une base en béton, facilitant leur entretien. En dessous, un local technique de 66m de long abrite les commandes électriques des fontaines, les systèmes de pompe et de filtration par ultra violet (moins nocif pour l'environnement que la filtration au chlore généralement utilisée). L'eau circule en circuit fermé (130m3 sont stockés dans les deux bacs tampons sous la place) et est régulièrement renouvelée grâce à un puits de 30m de profondeur, utile également à l'arrosage manuel, évitant tout gaspillage.

Etudié en collaboration avec le paysagiste Gilles Clément qui, dès la phase de mise au point de l’opération, pallie le désistement de l’Agence Ter, les aménagements verts comprennent des pelouses plantées de rosiers, des prunus, des magnolias kobus, des sophoras du japon, ainsi que de nombreux espaces plantées de bambous (550 sujets répartis dans 31 zones distinctes) qui risquent de souffrir de la suppression par les responsables des services communaux de l’arrosage automatique prévu par les auteurs de projet.

Une attention accrue a été portée à l’éclairage, principalement basé sur la technologie LED, utilisée pour la première fois dans un projet de telle ampleur à Liège. Les signaux ponctuant les deux extrémités de la place (le rond point et le carrefour rue de Serbie/rue de Sclessin) étudiés avec l’artiste bruxellois Jean Glibert, les mâts d’éclairage routier très bas ainsi que la disposition des sources lumineuses au sol créent une animation visuelle qualitative, à dimension résolument humaine. Mais surtout, ils favorisent l’intégration des différentes expressions architecturales en présence, et en particulier la gare de Calatrava qu’ils participent, sans effet ostentatoire, à mettre en valeur en la raccrochant à son contexte.

Une vision urbanistique globale

Il faut le relever : la place des Guillemins est bien davantage qu’un espace tampon entre le quartier et la gare. Bien au-delà de réguler le gigantisme de l’architecture de cette dernière et de tempérer la rupture qu’elle crée avec le bâti environnant, les auteurs de projet l’ont conçue comme l’amorce d’une reconversion de toute une partie de Liège. Logiquement, elle demeure difficile à comprendre hors de cette vision globale. Et, il est à craindre qu’elle ne trouve pas sa pleine intelligibilité si l’esprit des développements en phases desquels elle a été conçue n’est pas respecté dans les aménagements à venir.

Dans la continuité des recherches effectuées pour la place, le bureau Dethier Architecture a, sans en avoir reçu la mission, réalisé une étude de faisabilité pour la réhabilitation du quartier des Guillemins autour de deux concepts fondamentaux. D’une part, ces recherches proposent de redensifier le site en complétant le bâti existant plutôt que de le détruire au profil de nouvelles constructions décontextualisées. D’autre part, elles définissent un plan masse articulé sur un axe longitudinal : une esplanade de 550 mètres de long entre la gare et le fleuve qui se prolonge par une passerelle donnant accès au parc de la Boverie et au quartier du Longdoz où des développements immobiliers pouvaient dans la foulée être prévus. Greffées sur cet axe, des pénétrations transversales irriguent tout le quartier et relèvent son potentiel immobilier (bureau, logement ...). Elaborée en fonction de modes de circulations lents, cyclistes mais surtout piétons, l’esplanade intègre de nombreuses réflexions : segmentation spatiale calculée sur des vitesses de déplacement spécifiques, dégagement du trafic automobile, juste proportion entre l’espace et son occupation humaine, mise en place d’éléments de liaisons locales et régionales, enfouissement d’une partie du trafic le long des berges, …

En dessinant la place des Guillemins et en accompagnant cette étude d’une vision plus large, les architectes ont cherché à conjuguer la vocation métropolitaine du site et l’échelle du quartier de façon à donner à l’ensemble un rôle moteur pour Liège. Ils ont aussi réfléchi à intégrer la notion de mixité fonctionnelle : le tissu urbain présente en effet la possibilité d’offrir des lieux de vie attractifs mais aussi d’implanter un quartier d’affaires encore inexistant à Liège ainsi qu’une fonction tertiaire respectueuse des commerces existants.

Soulignons le réalisme de ces réflexions du point de vue des budgets, des nuisances pour la vie du quartier et des délais de mise en œuvre. Les démolitions et expropriations qu'il implique sont limitées. Valorisant en priorité le foncier « public » mobilisable et s’appuyant sur de justes partenariats privés, le bureau Dethier Architecture a tenu compte des capacités financières de la Ville. Appuyée par la Région wallonne dès janvier 2007, l’étude a été approuvée par le Collège communal le 8 février de la même année. Ce choix a, rappelons-le, tranché la pomme de discorde qui mûrissait avec la proposition présentée en 2000 par Santiago Calatrava pour le même espace. Il faut reconnaître que le projet de l’architecte catalan - plus monumental et souvent jugé irréaliste dans sa démesure - visait davantage l’adaptation du tissu urbain à la gare que l’intégration de cette dernière aux caractéristiques de la Cité ardente.

L’ensemble de ces recherches devait aboutir à la mise au point d’un faisceau de prescriptions urbanistiques. Pour assurer la cohérence de l’opération et l’identité du futur quartier des Guillemins, il faut définir l’implantation des fonctions, les gabarits des nouvelles constructions, le traitement des façades et des sols… Malheureusement, les autorités communales ont décidé de ne pas poursuivre au-delà de l’étude de faisabilité. Le risque d’une perte de cohérence dans les aménagements à venir est réel. Certains regrettent ainsi déjà la hauteur disproportionnée et la forme de la nouvelle Tour des Finances conçue par les bureaux Jaspers/Eyers et Bureau d'Architecture Greisch. On peut aussi avoir des craintes quant à la pertinence du plan de mobilité dont le bureau Dethier Architecture n’est pas l’auteur ou encore quant aux résultats des concours de promotion immobilière davantage stimulée par des rapports financiers que par la création d’architectures significatives. 

Fiche technique

Rue Paradis
4000 Liège
2014
Ville de Liège

Aménagement de la place face à la gare TGV.

Artiste plasticien : Jean Glibert
Paysage : Atelier TER ; Gilles Clément
Association momentanée Dethier Architecture, Ney & Partners, Atelier 4D
Eloy
JMV-Colas
380 dalles de 4x3m et 7,5t ; puits de 30m de profondeur ; technologie LED

Localisation

Latitude: 50° 37' 33.6" N
Longitude: 5° 34' 11.64" E

Related projects

Réhabilitation des résidences Curtius et Brahy dans l'ensemble muséal du Grand Curtius
© Jean-Paul Legros
Le manège de la Caserne Fonck
© Serge Brison / www.sergebrison.com
Amphithéâtres Opéra pour l’Université de Liège
© Serge Brison / www.sergebrison.com
Amphithéâtres de l'Europe pour l'Université de Liège
© Jean-Paul Legros
Poste électrique Pouplin
© Daylight
Centre Dynamique des Groupes et d’Analyse Institutionnelle
© Serge Brison / www.sergebrison.com